Anxiety & Fear · Confidence · Prayer · Relationship with Christ

When I Heard God Speak My Heart

close-up-1836666_960_720.jpg

God Used A Revival Service To Write

In the past four days, I’ve worked on three blogs. Today, like Saturday, I started to work on  Layers of Prayer (Part. 2)- Inner Layer-Good Intentions Prayer blog series. As you may know, God inspired me to write about something else. Something that I felt was urgent and so I did. That particular topic broke into two blogs, My Calling- Maybe you were like me and It’s Not About Church . 

 

Today was a revival service and the aftermath of the service immediately pulled me to think of Saturday. How, so very often, God will speak to us. Like Saturday, I felt He was saying tonight, “You need to write this.” 

Intensity Of Prayer

Something that pushed me to write about prayer, the importance and true depth of it was an event that occurred a few weeks ago. A friend asked me for prayer for a particular situation, and immediately I thought of Jesus talking to the disciples. The disciples met a demon possessed boy and they could not help the boy. So they asked Jesus about it after Jesus called the demon out.

(NAS) Matthew 17:21 “But this kind does not go out except by prayer and fasting.”

hummingbird-bird-fly-wing.jpg

Pushing Myself With Prayer

You see, this scripture really pushed me to consider how we should pray. And it made me think of the depth I want to push myself with in prayer. I talk to God a lot and about many serious things. But for requests of others and mountains in my own life, I wanted to work on them. I wanted to push worshipping Him in private. I wanted to push the intimacy I come to Him with in bearing requests.

And then, God gave me that scripture. Now I believe Jesus did focus on actual fasting. However, when I thought of the scripture, it wasn’t the fasting of food I thought of. It was the duration. Time is the complete focus with fasting in relation to God. Meaning, in my mind’s eyes, at least a few things.

  1. It is a commitment. 

  2. It is something special shared with God. 

  3. In irony, it is meant to renew. It’s a detox, a cleanse. 

  4. This is what prayer should be…always.

And inspiration followed.

Soon after I had my breakthrough, I spent a day praying more consistently. Harder and fervently, it brought me to my knees. It brought me to tears. It brought me to hope. It brought me to… confidence in prayer. We are to be confident in Christ. Completely trust Him. He keeps His promises.

bamboo-364112_960_720.jpg

What I Struggle The Most With

Confidence was received in strong prayer. This is something I have struggle with for many years.

I’ve told God, “I may not be confident in myself, but I am confident in You.” God is so generous and so kind that He reaches me when I struggle. He speaks softly even though He can roar, if He so pleases.

Praying like that reminded me…of when I was 13. And that is in the blog about my calling.

But you might wonder or are curious, “Okay, how does that relate to tonight?”

Tonight’s sermon was very thought and heart provoking. But what I want to share is when the pastor spoke of sabotaging our faith when we ask God for His will in what we request.

He explained, there was already one person who had asked Jesus if He was willing to heal. Jesus answered, “I am.” So, we should understand that yes Jesus and God are already willing to answer prayers. Essentially, that was one of the main things Jesus did while on this Earth.

He healed.

God Has No Limitation

When I continue to post about the layers of prayer, confidence is something that is very crucial in the last layer . This is something God is continuing to teach me as we speak. The true power of confidence in Him with prayer. And I for years, have asked God if it is in His will then let it be so.

Now yes, I have to admit I struggled thinking for years that out of everyone God could answer, why would He choose me? Not cause He couldn’t, but there are other prayers that need answered. I forgot God doesn’t have a limitation. The sole Creator of the universe does not have issues when it comes to answering prayers.

horsehead-nebula-dark-nebula-constellation-orion-87646.jpeg

Jesus Listens To His Children

He will be glorified. He isn’t selective like mankind. In fact, He does not weigh the pros and cons. Scripture says, (NLT) Matthew 5:45 “In that way, you will be acting as true children of your Father in heaven. For He gives His sunlight to both the evil and the good, and He sends rain on the just and the unjust alike.”

Life is not always fair. Jesus healed people who did not follow Him. But we DO! How much more does He listen? He doesn’t listen to a sinner’s insincere prayer. He does listens to His children who obey Him and His command. We already have that much more attention on us because our eyes turn to Him. We get to see Him.

Praying At The Alter For God’s Answer

The church I attend has a term referred to as a “word“. This simply means that someone is compelled that God is leading him or her to share information with another that God wants that person to know.

Needless to say, tonight God’s hand was shown. Just before the closing prayer, as I was listening to the sermon,in my mind I told myself.

If God wants me to know, like REALLY know something tonight, then He WILL make it happen.

As I prayed, I thought about my writing and I asked God to help, “Increase the work of my hands.” (Glory to God, look what I am doing right now at 12:20am!) 

sparkler-677774_960_720.jpg

Only a few minutes later, the pastor says he wanted to pray for me. As he proceeded to do this, he said,

that I had confidence in God, but I struggled having confidence in myself.

How beyond true this was for a stranger to answer me through the hand of Christ.

He gave me the scripture (NIV) Colossians 2:10, “And in Christ you have been brought to fullness. He is the head over every power and authority.”  

I don’t like crying in public. I really don’t. But when God’s spirit is speaking through someone. It’s God.

Only God knows, the days and nights I’ve struggled and opened up to Him about my struggles. I needed encouragement in only a way God could reach me.

drip-1066410_960_720.jpg

Confidence Comes Through Our Relationship With Him

You see, God gives us confidence in Him, but He also gives us confidence in the way we walk with Him, in our daily life. I get so critical of my relationship with Him because God deserves the best. No, we can’t out give Him. No, we can’t ever make up for everything He has done and EVERYTHING He simply is! Praise God!

The past two weeks I have been surrounded by looking at scriptures for confidence. As I sit here right now, two notecards are full mostly with scriptures about confidence for a blog I am attempting to write. (Unless God has more ideas. Speak Lord, for Your servant is listening.) And even, believe it or not, my deodorant container has written on the cap the words

“confidence is irresistible.”

Don’t tell me my God doesn’t answer.

vine-leaf-657693_960_720.jpg

Nothing Will Be Impossible For You

He is the True Vine and He will speak and use other branches to reach us. May we be fruitful branches so God can use us as well.

I close this post with something God gave me tonight. As I started to write this blog, God answered me with the two verses from my original scripture He gave me two weeks ago.

(NIV) Matthew 17:19-20 “Then the disciples came to Jesus in private and asked, “Why couldn’t we drive it out?” He replied, “Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, Move from here to there, and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

possible-953169_960_720.jpg

Nothing is impossible. Remember that.

 


Screen Shot 2017-08-22 at 9.45.40 PM

(Can’t get enough posts? Check out my second blog Peeking Beneath)

2 thoughts on “When I Heard God Speak My Heart

Leave a Reply

