Anxiety & Fear · Doubt/Faith · Relationship with Christ

Midst Of Storm |Intro To Dream Experience (1)

Introduction To The Dark One

Ever since I was 13, which was a time in my life my relationship with Christ drastically changed, I have had some symbolic and apocalyptic dreams.

Not constantly, just every so often, and some of the dreams would place focus on using faith against dark forces. Pinning the individual, me in this case, against a dark one.

lantern-1982685_960_720.jpg

It’s Not About Me

And something God has taught me ever since I’ve had these dreams is that it is not about my own power.

It’s not about me or my strength of faith.

Nope.

Our battle with darkness is not about our power.

It is about giving our fear to the Lord in the moment it happens.

It is about God’s power.

I may share some of these dreams later on, but I wanted to give an example of this lesson from a dream I had today.

The one common theme most of these dreams share.

man-1519665_960_720.jpg

Relying On God

These dreams for many years often depicted a man representing the Anti-Christ. Sometimes he was the obvious villain from the beginning of the dream. But as I grew older, he tended to take a pastor’s form. Leading many astray, while I remained in the back. Questioning him with scripture and leading others out of the room he preached in.

Increasingly, he would become angry as I refused to believe his words.

A pattern would arise in which I tended to rely on praying to God in my dream. Pushing my own will in knowing God would answer. This wasn’t necessarily wrong. But in life, and in dreaming, it isn’t about knowing we have a “special” connection to God. We should never put pride in ourselves.

pride-1804602_960_720.jpg

Putting Trust In Myself

I’ve wrote about this in a couple of blogs. We have no absolute power as Christians. We, as Christians, can become very selfish and not be aware that we are. Thinking of all the “good” we are doing. That we have a, “power”.

Well, in my dreams and life, I was aware I had a special relationship.

Note: Everyone can have a special relationship with Christ.  

In my dreams, my focus on God listening to me fell on reliance that I had “enough” faith. I put trust in God answering, but I also had trust in myself believing it was “my” faith making a difference.

Till a couple of dreams happened with this character/creature. Yep, creature, there were some creepy dreams. These dreams were about five to six years ago now. But still appear very present in my mind’s eye.

What you need to know for this post, is that there was a drastic shift in the character.

sleep-839358_960_720.jpg

Feeling Helpless

A helplessness latched onto my shoulders. When calling out to God in my dreams appeared to have no meaning.

In real life, it was at this time I was experiencing depression and my vulnerability skyrocketed.

There were some strange events I can’t explain, some people might not even believe. Not that I blame them. If I wasn’t me, I’d be questionable too. Nothing wrong with that.

But the darkness in my dreams had increased. In these dreams, the presence of feeling the Holy Spirit also diminished. Which I had relied on in the past, for years, for assurance.

At first, this was troublesome.

God Is More

But as time moved on, I accepted it.

I told God, “Even if I can’t feel You, I know You are here. I know You will still hear me, whether in my dreams or in my life.”

This lesson He taught me wasn’t about myself. It was truly relying on God and knowing in those dreams (and life) God has so much more power than we could ever measure.

By and by I was learning this. Even when he first appeared in my dreams as a dark one, sometimes I would cling to any and all scriptures I knew, saying them out loud. It may sound odd, but sometimes I would also sing while this character spoke or got angry with me. These two actions, they pushed me to focus on God, and not focus on someone who trying to intimidate and make me fearful. With my focus on God, I was comforted.

background-1986032_960_720.jpg

Most of the dreams in which I had sung a, “hymn,” it was a song I had not known. 99% of the time when I woke up, I couldn’t remember any of the words that were sung.

I have a really good memory too, so this was odd.

But oh, how he HATED those songs and scriptures.

And once I had accepted pushing towards God, no matter what was the obstacle, and not relying on myself, the dreams only continued to test me. Such as today’s dream.

Now that we have the introduction out of the way…

(I know you’ve been waiting) 

glass-318499_960_720.jpg

The Dream

I was in a van with a group of four other girls. It was raining outside, and it was night time. We were in front of some kind of building, that had a porch light on. I sat on the passenger’s side.

Interestingly, this van had a large opening between the driver and passenger seats. So I was able to sit on the left side facing the people who sat in the back.

I’m not sure why, but the girls had been chatting (who knows of what) and suddenly terror crosses their face. I don’t believe we were running away from something, but it is possible.

Disbelief instantly wove its way through the van.

None of the girls screamed when an unknown force started pushing the van backwards into a sudden rush of flooding roads. Terror reigned and helplessness sat at the right side.

Their face said it all. They were already defeated. Remaining frozen in their seats.

Logically, you know what real life scenarios give you, door locks should have been checked. The driver, perhaps, could have seen if she could drive forward. None of these things mattered in the dream.

Nor did I think of them, but, speaking on behalf of majority, one is not lucid at all times.

So what did I do?

pants-1327971_960_720.jpg

What If God Doesn’t Answer

I got on my knees in the backseat and shouted at the top of my lungs. Cause… (I wish in real life, I wasn’t as constricted in fear of what others would think.)

Scriptures of all sorts fell out of my mouth. Talking about trusting God, and knowing that Christ has set all free. Christ is the only way to God.

The van stopped, and briefly I thought it was over.

The girls looked startled, slightly hopeful, and then the shifting of the van began again. Stronger than before. To which again defeat fell across their face.

Someone or something started beating the windows. And it was then I asked myself, “What if God doesn’t answer right now?”

And I knew, it wasn’t about whether or not God answered. It was about trusting Him, to be the One to fight the darkness.

Not me.

I’m not sure why I only remember this exact scripture being spouted out of my mouth constantly. But after I knew it wasn’t about my timing, but God’s, repetitively I continued yelling at the top of my lungs.

Eyes shut, I would not let fear enter. I would not face an opponent not meant for me.

One single scripture entered my mind.

My hand pressed against the window. My face bent towards the floor.

“BE STILL AND KNOW THAT I AM GOD!” 

Over and over, I repeated Psalm 46:10.

The dream ended. But the message God gave me did not.

talk-bubble-1964578_960_720.jpg

Psalm 46

We always need to be still and know God is the Great I AM.

For years, He’s given me that precise scripture to cling to.

But what I want to share with you today is something tied to this scripture.

Psalm 46 has a lot of lines tying back to the theme the dream presented. Hidden encouragement God gave me through the single scripture.

Psalm 46:01 & 02,  “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, even though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea.” 

Psalm 46:05, “God is in the midst of her, she shall not be moved; God shall help her, just at the break of dawn.” 

Psalm 46:11, “The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge.” 

Even when we struggle, we are not alone. Even when everyone around us gives up or fails us, we do not struggle alone. We are not forsaken whether in a dream or in life.

We simply need to be patient and trust.

Psalm 46:10, “Be still, and know that I am God.” 

Screen Shot 2017-01-31 at 5.01.42 PM.png

What does God use to speak to you in your life?

Screen Shot 2017-08-22 at 9.45.40 PM

(All scripture taken from the New Kings James version)

(Can’t get enough posts? Check out my second blog Peeking Beneath)

2 thoughts on “Midst Of Storm |Intro To Dream Experience (1)

Leave a Reply

