Bible Study · Relationship with Christ

Are We Like Jonah?

As I write this, we have three packers in our home. What I have been worrying and stressing over, God granted. We got our movers.

And movers do make me nervous. Strangers in your home, packing your stuff. Hoping things go over smoothly, things don’t break etc. It’s just the stress of moving in general. Less than a year ago, I went through this same experience, only all by myself. My nerves were completely shot.

But unlike last time, God used my fears and stress to direct me closer to Him, and His steps. Sure, I still have some small panic wanting to rise in my chest, but I don’t want to let that rule over me.

I don’t want to complain.

pexels-photo-265015

God gave me what I asked Him for, and it would seem so sad to complain or whine about my circumstance. A circumstance I prayed for, and God answered.

The urge to complain to God was there. Since the movers came today, I made sure I had things organized so they would be able to sort out when my husband and I find a place. Due to this, I spent most of the previous day getting things ready for the packing process. A few last minute things had to be done, and I didn’t finish till about 4:30a.m.

My feet hurt and my back hurt. I debated on taking a bath to relieve the aches and pains, but then realized my phone’s screen blew up with a Tornado Warning. The storm was suppose to hit at 5a.m. So I stayed up, prepared the room in case I needed to wake up my husband. When the storm got closer, it became apparent we were not in the eye of the storm, and the warning disappeared.

pexels-photo-359991

Though I was exhausted I constantly woke myself before actually falling asleep. Alarm went off at 8:15 a.m. and here I am.

I’m painting the picture for all of the reasons why I could complain.

And believe me, it would be easy.

But just as I was considering it, this scripture flashed through my mind.

(NIV) Philippians 4:11, “For I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.”

It was the scripture God gave me a few hours before I fell asleep. A scripture chosen for today on my calendar. Another answer from God.

As I pondered the scripture, the thought of Jonah crossed my mind.

When he sat at the hilltop waiting for a city to burn. God gave him a plant that grew and gave him shade. But Jonah didn’t understand the depth of God’s love and forgiveness. He grew frustrated sinners who repented weren’t punished. He became angry when the tree that gave him shade died.

pexels-photo-357553

All he did was complain to God and take for granted what he was given. The book of Jonah ends on a sour note.

Do we go through our life and take for granted what God gives us?

Especially the very things we requested from Him?

With everything He has done for me these past couple of weeks, I just can’t…

I’m humbled by the scripture I read when I asked God to guide me through the exhaustion and lack of sleep.

I’m thankful that every night I’ve given God my worries, sleep has entered and worries are gone.

Through this, God has given me rest and assurance of His peace.

(NIV) Matthew 11:28, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

Lord, You are truly amazing.

~T. R. Noble

6 thoughts on “Are We Like Jonah?

  1. Thanks for sharing from your heart. You are so right. Complaining and whining are so easy for me. Unfortunately praising God and becoming content in all circumstances is harder. Praise God that He is showing me a more excellent way to respond. Your post nailed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

