Random

Problems When We Only Discuss Blessings | Hear Me Out

christmas-cookies-1886760_960_720.jpg

Smell that smoke?

That’s my cookies burning in the oven.

My internal heart oven.

Cause my cookies burn before my eyes, when all I hear is talk about blessings God gives.

Say what?! Any of you think this is a silly for me to feel this way? Give me a chance.

It’s a personal pet peeve, or is it a Christian peeve?Β I don’t know. And God has been pricking me recently to work on asking for humility. As I’ve said before, I’m a work in progress.

We all are.

There’s a reason why we are a community of believers. There is a reason why we share our experiences with each other.Β We are to lift each other up, and we are meant to be honest. I’m not sure why it tends to be on social media especially, but people feel inclined only to share the best aspects of their life.

But let the truth be told, as a believer, it’s false advertising.

candle-626169_960_720.jpg

No matter where we are, we are to be honest. To share both the good and the bad because that’s how progress is seen. Otherwise, if only one part of our life is shared we remain flat, stuck. And if we only show the good we don’t want to unintentionally be a stumbling block to other believers.

“So and so’s life is so perfect. What’s wrong with me? Why does God not answer?”

I use the word unintentional because we can be a stumbling block when we aren’t aware. People will struggle with envy and jealousy. However, we don’t need to press constantly about how “great” our life is. Are our statements truly meant to put focus on God, or focus on us?

Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with talking about blessings. But don’t make the blessings about material or money. Something to consider is not to always sugar coat life with blessings many share.

blueberries-1867398_960_720.jpg

Focus on the intimate blessings, the merciful ones, the graceful ones, and the forgiven ones.

Many can talk about being secure in their home, few talk about insecurity.

Many talk how God blesses them, few talk about how God humbles them.

Many appear to have a particular way of life, few are truly honest.

Guess what?

Jesus wants us to be of the few, and not the many.

~T. R. Noble

(All Images Are From Pexels)

14 thoughts on “Problems When We Only Discuss Blessings | Hear Me Out

  1. This literally just had me thinking. How different would it be if people that we assumed perfect showed the not so perfect/bad days every once in a while. It’s so ture! We are tricked into thinking people have it better than us but really we are all just in the same boat. for the most part. Thanks for this post.!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You are welcome! I pushed posting this for about two months because I didn’t want anyone to take it negatively. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed it!!! Yes, it would be a lot easier on people. : )

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so right! God has been showing me by opening up and revealing my struggles other people can be gathered together for the positive. Judgement is hard to deal with. I struggle not to focus on the thoughts of others. But in the end, they are not the ones I need to please. Thank you for stopping by! I’ll take a look at your blog when I have some free time : )

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Timely post T. (if I may use your first letter name) this post hit a spot with me and is too true. Then I experienced conviction in my soul. The Psalms and the first chapter of James came to mind. The realization hit me that God can only send Blessing to all people. Good and perfect gifts come from above.

    The conviction to me was I wanted suffering to be bad. As we face and dig through suffering we become identified with Christ and His sufferings. Not bad. If we unwrap the suffering we get more of the Grace God has given us. We get more Faith in a God who will not leave or forsake us. We get a story rivaling many Bible stories to tell others, AKA a voice of wittiness for Christ. The list goes on and on.

    No bad results if we invite God to walk with us in our suffering, (Don’t waste the pain) We just had to detach ourselves from this world and add attachment to God and His resource ( replacing the world in our soul). The sin of the modern Church is: we think only sweet/easy blessing are good. You really nailed it when you said “But don’t make the blessings about material or money.” Best blessings are about learning to walk by faith not sight. ( I call it matter and money)

    Count it all JOY when you fall into diverse temptations,,,,,, So! Is it possible for God to send anything but blessing to people. I know there are deeply evil events that happen. Did these evil events come from God or the other being. Whether the source can be determined or not, God will never leave or forsake His children.

    In Christ
    Denny

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Great post! πŸ™‚ It has also bothered me in that way as well. “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed.” (James 5:16) It can be scary to open up and tell others of the bad things. However, how can we pray for one another if everyone only tells of their “blessings?”

    I love your point about Jesus wants us to be of the few. πŸ™‚ Amen!

    I remember reading an article a while back that talked a bit about how being “blessed” is sometimes viewed. If you want to read it: http://www.desiringgod.org/articles/what-does-it-really-mean-to-be-blessed

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

