Christian Poetry/Flash Fiction

An Old Foe Appears (Christian Poem)

Shame, shame.

Wrapped around and calling my name.

Echoes whispering

Accusing saying I’m undeserving.

 

And old foe appears.

One I haven’t seen in many years.

He grins, while a sword glints

in his hands.

 

I was growing, sowing.

Now, the accuser destroying.

Ripping apart, what was my heart.

Roots broken and seeds marked.

 

Ink bleeds into the soil.

Of my mind, words toil.

Name-calling, yelling,

I can’t stop hearing the screaming.

 

The ground beneath me is dry and bare.

I am fed lies, I do not care.

Where are You, Lord?

Are You even there?

 

A clap of thunder in the distance.

Enemy stiffens. Resistance.

A clash of lightning in the sky.

Accuser grumbles, “Not now, why?!”

 

The thunder is louder

and the enemy starts to cower.

The thunder ROARS without fear

and within the distance, a lion appears.

 

Silence.

 

“Where is your accuser?

He’s left the scene, your abuser.

Look up, child, for you shall see

the One who cleanses & prepares for eternity.”

 

The ground became wet with blood.

Lies of ink were washed away like a flood.

Seeds not marked nor roots broken.

Washed anew immediately as His words were spoken.

 

Growth sprang up from the soil

nutrient-filled and not with toil.

Roots dug deeper than before.

All because He was the Door.

 

He cleared my name that one day.

The enemy fled and went away.

My conscience cleansed by His grace

And one sweet day I’ll see His face.

 

Once on a path of destruction

My King came for spiritual construction.

He died for me so I could live

To His precious name, I freely give.

 

All of my heart, my soul, my strength, and mind.

To live by His ways, even in tough times.

May I continue to be transformed inside and out.

So all may see Him without a doubt.

(NIV) Ephesians 2:03, “All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our flesh and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature deserving of wrath.” 

(NLT) Hebrews 10:22, “let us go right into the presence of God with sincere hearts fully trusting him. For our guilty consciences have been sprinkled with Christ’s blood to make us clean, and our bodies have been washed with pure water.”

I don’t know about you but I constantly need to be reminded of the precious blood Jesus spilt for me and what that means. I highly recommend chapters 9-10 of Hebrews in seeing how Jesus became our High Priest, and what that means. 

Community Prayer for June 2020

Monthly Scripture – (NKJ) Psalm 85:08, “I will hear what God the Lord will speak, for He will speak peace to His people and to His saints; but let them not turn back to folly.”

Get To Know Me & My Blog
Believer Handbook
Second Blog: Peeking Beneath

Luke 11_39-40, _...so careful to clean the outside of the cup and the dish, but inside you are filthy–full of greed and wickedness. Fools! Didn’t God make the inside as well as the outside_.png

23 thoughts on “An Old Foe Appears (Christian Poem)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.